Lisboa Metro

On to the Lisbon Metro. I cannot overstate how EASY it is to navigate the metro system here. I know people get very confused by the London underground and rightly so; by comparison it’s as muddled as your brain after a heavy night on the town. 

 Here however, you have four different lines for the city. Azul (blue), Amarella (yellow), Verde (green) and Vermelha (red):

lisbon_metro_map

As you can see, all pretty straight forward. Even buy tickets is simple.  

No matter how long you’re staying I’d recommend the Viva Viagem card you can buy at any of the metro stations. You pay 0.50 cents for the card itself but after that you can top it up, the more you top it up, the cheaper each single journey becomes. I chose 10 euros as I’m here for a few months and it gets my journey price down to about just over a euro for a single trip. The card lasts a year and you can top it up as many times as you want. If you don’t want to use the automated machines you can go to a kiosk and buy. The staff are all incredibly helpful, and understand English so you shouldn’t be hesitant! 

Another thing, not using the metro means you miss out on some beautifully designed stations, along with the artwork contained in them. Many stops have had artists commissioned to design sculptures of tiling. I saw one station in particular I loved, and I intend to visit it just for the stop itself!

 To conclude, use the metro!

 

Love,

Sophie x

Leave a comment